12.20

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

It’s getting late.
I really wanted to go to bed early so I could get an early morning sequence in tomorrow before the day starts. But I can’t sleep.
The heater is on, and my toddler is asleep.
I should be, too.
But instead, I’m lying here thinking about how there are only five days left until Christmas.And only four until my mom gets here.

Which means there are only three days left to get ready.

When I initially had this realization, I wanted to panic.
But I remembered that this is an opportunity.

“A Christian, who realizes he has been made in the image of the Creator God and is therefore meant to be creative on a finite level, should certainly have more understanding of his responsibility to treat God’s creation with sensitivity, and should develop his talents to do something to beautify his little spot on the earth’s surface.”
Edith Schaeffer (The Hidden Art of Homemaking)

My mother, my family, is coming to my home. This is an opportunity to prepare my home to welcome her, and to welcome the Spirit in her. It’s a chance to provide a safe place for my family to grow together, and to strengthen essential bonds.

My meditation for the next three days will be to create a peaceful, comfortable space within my home out of the chaos that quietly accumulated over the Fall semester.

Leave a Reply

